Film Review Bridesmaids

25 06 2011

Good morning!

Well the weather is truly terrible in the UK and as much as I try, I always forget that this is as good as the Summer gets here! I fought through the rain and wind to get to my local multiplex last night to give you a film review for Bridesmaids.

I was a little bit unsure what to expect with this one as I thought it could be a movie where all the funny scenes were in the trailer. After all, the only person I recognised  was Ellie Kemper who is in The American Office, which is excellent, but inconclusive.

To summarise the plot, Bridesmaids is a movie about a thirty-something failed businesswoman, Annie, whose life isn’t going to well. She’s in a dead-end casual relationship with a complete jerk (played by a style hero of mine Jon Hamm from Mad Men) and lives with a bizarre British siblings, one of which you will definitely recognise, who border on mentally insane. To top it off, she has just been asked by her best friend Lillian, Maya Rudolph, to be her maid of honour for her upcoming wedding.

Let me just get this off my chest as the plot doesn’t really give you an idea of the qualty of this movie… I absolutely loved it. The lead actress and co-writer Kristen Wiig may be better known in the States for her work on Saturday Night Live, but I hadn’t heard of her up until this point. Although I will definitely change that as she is a massive talent. She is one of the funniest people I have seen on screen as she can effortlessly deliver physical comedy whilst her reactions and mannerisms are just priceless. I can hand on heart say, that the sex scene between her and Jon Hamm was the funniest scene of that nature that I have ever seen in my life. It was a hell of a way to begin the movie and I was looking at the old couple in front of me to make sure neither of them had a heart attack!

I think both men and women can relate to her best-friend rivalry with the beautiful Helen, Rose Byrne, who tries to undermine Annie’s party planning at every juncture. She also was supported with able performances from several others, but the ones that really stood out for me were Chris O’Dowd who Brits may recognise from the UK comedy, The IT Crowd and Melissa McCarthy, who plays the ill-mannered, brutally honest but incredibly funny Megan. In retrospect, her character is the one similarity to The Hangover films as she plays the off-the-wall sister of the groom who has only been invited because she’s family which is a direct parallel the HO’s character Alan. But I don’t think that will bother you as I’ve only realised it just now and she did play the role phenomenally well.

I was waiting for Mrs D. after the movie by the escalators and inadvertantly heard lots of comments from the audience that I watched the  film with. I was all very positive and everyone appeared to have really enjoyed the movie. “It’s so much better than The Hangover” was something I heard several times from different groups which, in the case of the more recent installment, I’d have to agree. But I think the movie Bridesmaids has a different flavour to the Hangover which surprised me as they easily could have gone down the much trodden, drunken-Hen night path. Instead, what director Paul Feig and writers Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo have done is create a considered, funny comedy which appealed to everyone in the theatre especially resonates with the female audience. I think a lot of people will go and see this movie off the back of the success of The Hangover franchise but will come out felling like this movie stands up on it’s own merits.

I’m so glad I went to see Bridesmaids after the glut of other comedies that have been released recently (Bad Teacher and The Hangover pt 2) as this movie would have put them both to shame. I’m a complete comedy snob but there were at least 20 laughs in this movie. Put down whatever your doing today and go see it as it’s the funniest movie of 2011 so far.

4/5

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

