La Vie… next big thing

29 05 2011

As the Superbite isn’t just a men’s fashion blog, one of the luxuries I afford myself is to write about whatever strikes my fancy. Cruising around the peak district yesterday we were listening to the Dermot O’Leary show discussing why I’d make such a good pirate – with a ready supply of rum and limes onboard, my crew would show me undying loyalty for introducing them to the mojito… suck on that Blackbeard. Once this heated intellectual debate subsided, I was struck by what was coming out of my radio; sun kissed melodic guitar, a relaxed rhythmic hook with gravelly vocals that wouldn’t be out of place driving a convertable on a Californian highway, not the A628 to Glossop.

The song was called Waiting For You by the group La Vie. There was an interview with the guys, they seemed pretty cool hailing from the four corners of the U.S which really shows in their music. It’s almost a throwback to 1970’s Americana; combining blues, bluegrass, country and folk. They then launched into their take of Ordinary World by Duran Duran which my generation would probably recognise from the end of Layer Cake and it was great.

The band are yet to break into the big time but I’m going to stick my neck out and say that I think that barring any disasters, you’re going to be hearing a lot more from them. They’re not even on Spotify or Play.com yet but if you like good music, I urge you to check out their website where their debut single loads straight away.

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

