Vintage swimshorts

16 04 2011

Had a foray into town, coffee with friends, did some gardening and now I am making the awesome summer dinner of a salsa filled burger with home-made lemon/sea salted chips!

Alas, this is not a cooking site as I fear Heston wouldn’t feed my efforts to his family pet. One thing I do have over the pug faced, “I’m a ginger but I try to conceal it with my shaved head and trendy glasses” chef is that I know my swimwear.

Recent trends have seen the board shorts in the early 00’s; brought to prominence by surfer types and Aussie teenagers. I have a couple of pairs myself and when showing off a lot of thigh was considered dated and incredibly European (I don’t mean it as a compliment in this instance), the board short was the cool alternative. I’m going to sound incredibly lame here but one of the biggest drawbacks is the amount of sand and unpleasantness that occurs when the short doesn’t have any netting still gives me nightmares.

Then Mr Craig changed all that. Suddenly the Aquashort wasn’t restricted to Spanish love cheats parading along the beach and a more provocative swim-short was en vogue once again. I must stress that if you don’t have the physique, for the love of Christ please don’t attempt to pull these off – both literally and figuratively.

Which brings me to the present day. It seems that since many established designers are paying tribute to the seventies this summer, the return of the seventies style swim short was inevitable. On the subject of this homage to the period, Paul Smith cites this period as the inspiration in his formative years:

“[The] Directional collection that references the beginning of Paul’s design career in the late 60’s / early ‘70’s and the inspiration he felt during this brave new rock era, watching musicians Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix mix new clothes with vintage. The elements that excited Paul most from this era; surreal galaxy prints, occult signs, batik, military costumes and vibrant cosmic inspired colours have been translated to create looks in new relaxed silhouettes using modern fabrics.”

I can see that influence on the swim-shorts, but as you would struggle to ever catch Led Zepp or Jimi going snorkelling, you would find Hollywood actors – the real rock and rollers of the seventies. In fact, I think you’d struggle to find the likes of Paul Newman and Robert Redford (pictured) with a shirt on. I’ve got to hand it to them, they were a couple of suave individuals.

I don’t know a way of saying this without sounding like a creepy uncle but I’m going to say it anyway: Without further ado, let’s let the fox see the rabbit. Gentleman, I give you the beach look of the summer. All pictures link to the product at My-Wardrobe so why not invest in some deck shoes from Momentum or Timberland to complete the look?

PAUL SMITH ACCESSORIES MULTI STRIPE CLASSIC SWIMSHORTS - 70.00

MARC BY MARC JACOBS OLIVE CALIFORNIA PRINT SWIM SHORTS - 125.00

PAUL SMITH ACCESSORIES NAVY FLORAL PRINT SWIMSHORTS - 70.00

POLO RALPH LAUREN BLUE PAISLEY PRINT SWIMSHORTS - 100.00

POLO RALPH LAUREN BLUE PLAID SWIMSHORTS - 60.00

VILEBREQUIN PINK VINTAGE LOGO SWIMSHORTS - 90.00

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

