Which camera?

26 02 2011

Buttered bagel. Check.

Crispy bacon. Check.

Scrambled eggs with chives. Mega Check.

I love Saturday mornings. I stayed up watching an unhealthy amount of The American Office last night but you’d be glad to hear that I’m feeling ok this morning. I’ve been looking at different things that might set my blog apart from other men’s fashion and lifestyle blogs and I think the key is a) trying to bag some items from fashion companies to promote and b) an amazing camera to take pictures and publicise it on the blog. Just to emphasise my point here are some amateur bloggers that have produced some excellent pictures. All pictures were sourced from the I love clothes! facebook page which I believe has been set up by the guys at fashion beans.

So that’s what I’m up against. Oh dear… the pictures are really good. I pride myself on having good written content but considering I don’t really know the first thing about photography, I’m pretty much going to have to start from scratch. With that, I visited the Simply Electronics site where they have a cool advice section which asks you general questions about what you’re looking for in a camera and these are the results:

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS11 (Red) Digital Camera £119.99

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS11: I’m on a limited budget so this is the higher end of what I’m looking for. Once you get past the stunning good looks, the Lumix offers a ridiculously good 14.1 Megapixels with a 5x zoom for a good price. Reading the spec, this camera is great for expansive shots outside but without the face recognition software (at least I don’t think it has) I’ll have to have a think.

Pros: High resolution, good zoom level, excellent at recording full motion shots and most importantly, it’s pretty.

Cons: No facial recognition function.

Pentax Optio P70 (Silver) Digital Camera £89.95

Pentax Optio P70: First off – great value. 4x zoom and 12 megapixels still meet my criteria and I think this badboy packs quite a few cool functions: The LCD is just as big (2.7″) Digital Wide function to create an image equivalent to a 21mm lens, Digital Panorama mode, Stylish ultra-slim design with a high-grade finish and it only weighs 110 grams! It’s a compromise on the slightly lower resolution but the extra functions and lower price make this an attractive option.

Pros: Light, excellent value, triple anti-shake protection, super-fast Face Recognition, a Smile Capture function to automatically release the shutter when it detects a subject’s smile.

Cons: I’d like a slightly higher zoom but it’s certainly not a show stopper.

Olympus FE-5020 (Blue) Digital Camera with 2.7 inches LCD Screen Protector £87.95

Olympus FE-502: There’s actually a newer model of this camera but the reviews were nowhere near as good as this one. This camera has a 5x optical zoom and 12 megapixels and an advanced screen facial recognition. There’s also a magic filter function which manipulates light to create some fantastic effects without spending hours on photoshop! It also has a digital image stabilisation function which would be great for some of the sport features that I write about.

Pros: Great looking, advanced Face Detection of up to 16 persons, weight: 107 g (without battery and card), Digital Image Stabilisation for less blur and a great price!

Cons: For this price, I’m not sure there are any!

– Digital Wide function to create an image equivalent to a 21mm lens
– Digital Panorama mode
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

