Exercise tips for getting fit in 2011

7 01 2011

Hello hello.

Was it just me or has this week been a bit slow? The week after the Christmas holidays can be tough to get going, particularly when most of your office are sick with Goat Flu or whatever the latest pandemic is!

I run a tuck shop at work, giving the proceeds to a local charity that I volunteer for, but I’ve noticed chocolate consumption is down and so are profits! I blame the new years resolutions… I’ll break them next week. It’s slightly hypocritical considering that I plug a life of fitness on the site, but what can I say? I’m sometimes guilty of hypocrisy, at least in this case it’s for a good cause.


In the same breath I just wanted to talk about a couple of things that my friends at Maximuscle are currently running. There’s some good promotions on their site about getting fit in the new year. They’re running a promotion where you do a 30 day fitness challenge using their own training advice and products and it if doesn’t work, you get your money back, link here. They’ve also designed some exercise routines and intelligently divided them by how much time people have to spare a week. It seems to work by increasing the intensity of the workout for those who have little time to go to the gym. I’ve looked at the routines and I think the two gym sessions a week apply to me as I like to fit some football, running and swimming into my week too so this is what they recommend:

Click on each exercise for a pop-up window that shows you how to perform each exercise (no downloads or extra software needed).

Day 1

Exercise Sets Repetitions
Barbell Squat 1-3 10-12
Leg Curl (Single Leg Split Squat for women) 1-3 10-12
Standing Calf Raise 1-3 10-12
Bench Press 1-3 10-12
Close Grip Bench Press 1-3 10-12
Dumbbell Curl 1-3 10-12
Reverse Crunch 1-3 10-12

Example of leg curl (click image for video demo)

Day 2

Exercise Sets Repetitions
Military Press 1-3 10-12
Lateral Raise 1-3 10-12
Wide Grip Lat Pulldown 1-3 10-12
Barbell Row 1-3 10-12
Triceps Pushdown 1-3 10-12
Crunches 1-3 10-12
Dumbbell shrug 1-3 10-12

Example of a lateral raise (click image for video demo)

As always Maximuscle offer a range of products to help you achieve faster, more effective result regardless of the desired outcome for the new you in 2011. Whether you want to gain power, tone up, increase endurance or bulk up, they have a product for it.

I’ll conclude by saying that despite peddling chocolate to unsuspecting colleagues, I do practice what I preach and am heading off to the gym to do one of these routines now! I’ll reward myself at the end by eating fish and chips in the jacuzzi.

I’ll leave you with that image to enjoy your Friday night!

D.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment