What the Tuck?

22 10 2010

It’s FRIIIIIIIIDAAAAAAY!

Every Friday I try to go to the gym after work and then publish a new exercise that I’ve tried out. Unfortunately my exercise this week involved rushing into town on my bike so I could catch the fish and chips before 5pm deal. Sometimes I don’t know how I am so dedicated to healthy living!

I am going to the gym first thing tomorrow however and this is one of the exercises I will be trying! I’m really getting into exercising with a gym ball at the moment as it encourages natural movements and focuses a lot on core stability. So on that note this exercise is called the exercise ball ab tuck. Now I know it looks like the fear inducing burpy, but it’s a lot more about slow, controlled movements so you can really feel the stomach muscles being used.

Ok, first off position yourself in the push up position with the front of your legs resting on top of the ball. If you are new to the exercise, position the ball further up your leg at the knee as this will provide more surface area on the ball, thus more stability. As you get more confident, your starting position can move down the leg where it is harder to stabilise yourself during the exercise.

Maintaining a strict push-up position, begin to move the stability ball in towards your chest using your legs and raising your hips upwards until your body has formed a tucked pose. Once your knees are tucked into your chest, slowly revert to the starting position. Control is the name of the game here so take your time with it. It’s a good way of avoiding the dreary stomach crunch!

More tomorrow folks.

D.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

